SAFE Europe Annual Awards

Annual awards are presented during the symposium

SAFE Europe Student of the Year Award is presented to an Aeromedical Research Student from Kings College, London.

This award was established by Air Vice Marshal John "JE" Ernsting CB, OBE, FRCP, FRAeS a senior Royal Air Force commander, renowned medical researcher and past Chair of SAFE Europe. Sadly JE passed away in 2009.

Student Of The Year - 2019

2019 Student of the Year Recipient Mitchel Segal recieveing his award from Sarah Day, SAFE Europe Chair.


Past recipients include, Christopher Gaffney, Rishi Mandavia, Matthew Greenfield, James Jack, Gihan Ganeshanantham, Rukshen Fernando, George Evetts, Richard Massey, Mari Murumets, Emma Pottinger, Alexandra Plehuna, John Cronin, Dr Lisha Shastri and Mitchell Segal in 2019.



SAFE Europe Best Paper Award is also presented.

2019 awardee was Dr Andy Weller, for his presentation on Evidence for Flotation Requirements Used to Qualify Aircrew Life Preservers.


Best Paper 2019 Andy Weller - 2019

2020 Best Paper Award Winner - Doctor Andy Weller recieving his award from Sarah Day, SAFE Europe Chair.


Past recipients include Dr Boris Kingma (2018), Constantinos Franceskides, Alistair Ross, Norma Staples, Sqd Ldr P Hodgkinson, Flt Lt E Sluungard, Dr Denise Tracey, James Walker, Dr Adrian Jones, Michel DuCharme, Brendan Smith, Flt Lt Alf Evans, Matthew Lewis, Heidi Castle, Barry Thrower, Steve Roberts and Bengt Landervik.


SAFE Europe Best Exhibitor 

SAFE Europe Best Exhibitor Award was established in 2003, IrvinGQ were awarded the WL Gore Trophy in 2019.

Previous recipients; CAM-LOCK, Miliears (2016), Survival Equipment Services (2014, 2018), AERIAL Machine and Tool Corp,  APEKS Marine, Life Support Intl, WL Gore (2003,2009,2010), Omni Medical, Signature Industries, Transaero Inc, BCB International and STI Inc